New Investigator Research Award recipients announced

Two University of Iowa faculty members have been awarded 2011-2012 College of Public Health-Carver College of Medicine New Investigator Research Awards. The awards assist newly appointed primary or joint faculty in the College of Public Health or the Carver College of Medicine to advance their research activities.

Each recipient will receive up to $10,000 of funding for independent research projects.

The recipients are:

  • Padmaja Ayyagari, assistant professor of health management and policy, for “Heterogeneity in the Impact of Tobacco Policies Across Racial and Ethnic Groups.”
  • Kathleen Tharp, clinical assistant professor of epidemiology, for “Validation of a Mediterranean Diet Screener in Pregnancy.”

For more information on the recipients and their projects, visit

The award recipients’ proposed research projects were chosen on the basis of scientific merit; relevance to the College of Public Health mission, strategic plan, and goals; and probability of attracting subsequent extramural research funding.