UI names Outstanding Teaching Assistants

The University of Iowa has named 31 teaching assistants the winners of the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards for 2010-11. Winners receive a certificate of achievement and $1,000. They were honored at a recent awards reception.

Michael Eckert, Chair of the Council on Teaching, presented a certificate to each of the award winners. The Council on Teaching has presented the awards each year since 1988. The awardees are teaching assistants who taught for at least one semester during the spring, summer, or fall of 2010. Nominations for the awards are sought from students, faculty, colleagues, departmental officers, and deans.

The 2010–11 Outstanding Teaching Assistants are:

Tippie College of Business
Management and Organizations: Russell Guay

College of Education
Psychological and Quantitative Foundations: Christine Skow

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Art and Art History: Kathryn Frances Hargrave
Art and Art History: Maria Elisa Mandarim de Lacerda
Chemistry: Adam Brummett
Chemistry: Jacob Frueh
Chemistry: Antonio Manuel
Cinema and Comparative Literature: David Oscar Harvey
Classics: Christian Preus
Classics: Sharada Price
Communication Studies: Lisa Carlton
Communication Studies: Curtis Livesay
Communication Studies: Joshua Pederson
English: Travis William Johnson
English: Jennifer Evans Loman
English–Nonfiction Writing: Felicia Rose Chavez
Geoscience: Shawn Joseph Malone
Mathematics: Nathan David Ellingwood
Mathematics: Ross Lyndon Kilgore
Mathematics: Ekaterina Usova
Mathematics: Roseanne Wolf
Mathematics: Kamuela Yong
Music: Aaron Perrine
Philosophy: Brett Coppenger
Philosophy: Abraham Graber
Philosophy: Kristopher Phillips
Sociology: Christie Fitzgerald Boxer
Spanish and Portuguese: Cortney Benjamin
Spanish and Portuguese: Jennifer Heacock-Renaud
Theatre Arts: Lauren Ann Brickman
Theatre Arts: Jessica Foster