UI pharmacy graduate students receive fellowships

Nine graduate students in the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy have been awarded one-year predoctoral fellowships from the American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AFPE).

Liz Chang, Tom Crowley, Laurie Eckert, Mark Ericson, Brandon Patterson, Heidi Schwanz, Tyrell Towle, and Matthew Witry will each receive a $6,500 grant; Ben Urick was also awarded the Phi-Lambda Sigma-AFPE First Year Fellowship and will receive a $7,500 grant.

The AFPE’s Pre-Doctoral Fellowship in the Pharmaceutical Sciences program encourages outstanding predoctoral students, who have completed at least three semesters of graduate study and have no more than three and a half years remaining, to continue their studies to earn a PhD in the pharmaceutical sciences at a U.S. pharmacy school. AFPE awards 58 fellowships annually.