College of Pharmacy celebrating 125th anniversary

In celebration of its 125th anniversary, the University of Iowa College of Pharmacy will host a University-wide reception from 5 to 7 p.m., Wednesday, Sept. 1, in the Kinnick Stadium press box. The reception, which is free and open to the public, will feature remarks from President Sally Mason, Dean Donald Letendre, and 2010–11 Student Council President Courtney Flynn.

The UI College of Pharmacy is the fourth oldest state-university-based college of pharmacy in the country. The first class enrolled in 1885 and consisted of just 12 men and one woman. Today, almost half of Iowa’s practicing pharmacists were educated at the college.

College faculty members conduct cutting-edge research and serve as leaders in the profession throughout Iowa and beyond. More than 400 adjunct faculty throughout the state also contribute to the mission of the college.

As part of the 125th anniversary celebrations, the college also will host a series of public seminars, the first of which will be held from 3 to 5 p.m., Oct. 5, in the Pharmacy Building.

For more information on the college’s 125th anniversary, visit