College of Law to celebrate Iowa Supreme Court Day

An Iowa legal tradition will be renewed Friday, Sept. 16 when the UI College of Law hosts the 2011 Supreme Court Day.

Supreme Court Day is held yearly to honor the state’s top court, and it recognizes the college’s origins, which began in 1865 when then Chief Justice George G. Wright founded the law school in his judicial chambers.

All six sitting justices of the high court are expected to attend, including Chief Justice Mark Cady, Associate Justices David Wiggins, Daryl Hecht, Brent Appel, Edward Mansfield, Bruce Zager, and Thomas Waterman, a UI law alumnus.

Students will have an opportunity with to meet with Wiggins during the day, followed by a moot court argument in the Levitt Auditorium in the Boyd Law Building at 2 p.m.