Drake, Peeples, and Shea earn Brody Awards

David Drake, Tonya Peeples, and Madeline Shea will receive the 2011 Michael J. Brody Awards for Faculty Excellence in Service to the University and the State of Iowa at the Faculty and Staff Awards Banquet Oct. 12.

David DrakeServing as a Faculty Senate officer, Drake represented faculty interests in the face of complex challenges, including an economic downturn and ongoing flood recovery. He has served on 23 UI committees, among them this year’s provost search committee. A professor of microbiology in the College of Dentistry, he was appointed senior associate to President Sally Mason this summer.


tonya peeplesPeeples, professor of chemical and biochemical engineering in the College of Engineering, is a local and national advocate for opportunities in science. She directs the Ethnic Inclusion Effort for Iowa Engineering, and has helped student organizations develop effective community initiatives, including an award-winning tutoring program now in its 17th year.


Madeline O'SheaShea founded and directs the innovative FUTURE in Biomedicine program, which brings faculty and students from Iowa liberal arts colleges to the UI campus for intensive summer research. A professor of biochemistry in the Carver College of Medicine, Shea has also served on the Provost’s Task Force on Outreach and Engagement.