UI College of Dentistry honors alumni

The University of Iowa College of Dentistry has announced awards for three alumni for 2010.

John Sleichter, a 1979 graduate who also received a master’s degree in orthodontics in 1981, received the 2010 Service Recognition Award. Sleichter has served patients at his Muscatine practice for nearly 30 years and is active in the community.

Lynn Curry, a 1965 graduate, received the 2010 Alumnus of the Year award. A dentist in Carroll for 40 years, Curry helped revitalize the college’s preceptor program and is a member of the steering committee for the college’s building renovation project.

Cynthia Christensen, a 1980 graduate, was named the 2010 Educator of the Year. Christensen, a clinical associate professor in pediatric dentistry who retired this year, directed training in pediatric cases during dental students’ third-year rotations.